The council of Maple County, concerned about the county’s becoming

overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the

development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also

concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing,

could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county.

Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar

measure ten years ago and its housing prices have increased only modestly

since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted

restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago,

and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently

predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant

increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be

answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on

which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to

these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple county is concerened about overdeveloping of the farmlands in this region, so they look for a measure to prevent overdeveloping. They predict that by putting restrictions on developing, the prices of houses will increase. In order to have a solid prediction, the council should answer some pointed questions.

First, is the economy in ten years and fifteen years ago the same as now? Based on what happened in many years ago, they cannot predict that the same happening would be plausible now. It’s possible that there was a depression ten years ago that restriction in developing houses, did not cause increasing in house’s price. Also, in fifteen years ago, it is likely that great economy encouraged people to buy houses and consequently the prices doubled.

Another question that is important to be answered that what was the diffreneces between Chestnut county, pin county and Maple county? The council should examine each county’s demographics, and the average income per household. Maybe the residents of Chestnut county had a low average income per household, and they could not afford buying houses and consequently the prices did not increase significantly. If the population of Maple county is lower than Chestnut county, and Maple’s residents have higher income, it will be more demand for buying house and the prices will be increased and vice versa. A blind comparison between several locations will not help the council to have a prescise prediction.

It’s important that Maple county’s council examine the opponents and proponents. Do they have conflict of interest? Are they biased or objective about developing housing in Maple county? If some of them are among builders that their profits have intertwined with this decision, will not be logical to consider their opinions. If opponents are among farmers, it’s possible that they dispute the developing of the farmlands. Because their futures and revenues are based on this decision.

All in all, to have a solid decision, the council should answer some questions and examine them. Opponents have claimed several statistics which without answering the important questions, the council of Maple county would not be able to predict correctly.