Critique the reasoning used in the argument below. You are not being asked to discuss your point of view on the argument. You should identify and analyze the central elements of the argument, the underlying assumptions that are being made, and any supporting information that is given. You critique can also discuss other information that would strengthen or weaken the argument or make it more logical.

The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean Views tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. The best way to improve Hopewells economy, and generate additional tax revenues, is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

In the above argument the mayor claims that there was boom on the economy of the Ocean view town from the past two years. He states that since they built a new golf course and resort hotel exactly two year back , since then there was increase in the tourism and also new businesses have established there base in the town. So the economy and the additional tax revenue has risen by 30%. So, he thinks that this all happened due to the golf course and resort and suggests another town named Hopewells to follow the same to make profits like Ocean View.

In the argument , the mayor states that there is an increase in tourism and new businesses have opened there due to the golf course and resort hotel .In a way we can accept that these could play a major role in increasing the tourism but we can't say weather new businesses were established in the town due to a golf course and a resort. When a entrepreneur comes to setup his business Does he look for luxuries to set up? maybe but he needs more ,the main aim for any business is to make profits and these doesn't get profits.

There may be other reason for the establishment of the new businesses. Tax relaxation, high requirement rate of that product, cheap labor , low cost raw materials or maybe easy transportation to major cities could strengthen this argument. Percentages are always tricky and manipulating. Here in the argument mayor states that the revenues have risen by 30 percent. But we don't know the total amount of revenue increased. Even there could be very less revenue in the town before tow years and 30% increase could be mearge. Maybe this could also be true since there are golf course and resorts , the municipal over there could impose additional taxation in the tourists and new businesses for these luxuries.

The mayor suggests other town also build these for making profit. Is it really worth it? There are many questions that are to be answered for this. Building them could be very expensive in that place. And are the locals really interested in these kind of luxuries? Is that much space is available in that town? Is infrastructure that good for tourism in that area? And are the locals will be willing to pay the extra taxes which will be imposed after construction? So there are many questions to that this argument fails to answer.

As I have unravelled the defects of the argument, I strongly recommend the mayor to withdraw this memo, conduct concrete research on the subject before it can provide any genuine advice to the other town.