Discuss whether you agree or disagree with the statement. Use relevant reasons and Examples to support your point of view. In developing and supporting your position, consider ways in which the statement might not hold true. Explain how those considerations affect your point of view.

"Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system because moral behavior cannot be legislated."

The statement "Many problems of......................cannot be legislated" is certainly a complex and controversial statement .I partially agree and partially disagree with this statement .I provide my reasons, examples and evidences in support of my point of view in the following paragraphs.

In consolidation of my point of view:

Why I agree with this statement?

In Democracy everything has to be done or followed by the law. As a citizen of the country we have to stay abide by the law, but the law system is too complicated. There are huge number of laws in the Constitution. These lead to delay in the justice ,since they have to throughly examine the situation according to the law which is also painstaking. There is a quote "Justice delayed is justice denied" . For example , if we take the Nirbhaya case where she was brutally raped and murdered by three men ,It took almost a decade to punish them because of following the law.

No law is perfect every law has it's flaws. There are people who take advantage of these loopholes to cheat the law and make huge profits especially in the economic laws. For example , In 1992, there was a man named Harshad Mehta , who read the law and took advantage of the flaws in the law system to make huge profits in the share markets. This led to the crash of whole country's economy where many people had to suffer.

Why I disagree with the Statement?

If there is no law , then the world would be in chaos . For example, in the ancient time when we look back only the strong people had all the power and used to dominate the weak people. But now since law exists the people fear to cross line and even the weak also are able to live peacefully. If there is no law , there would be chaos and violence all over to the world . So , it is mandatory to have a set of laws to maintain order. Law is required to maintain peace and harmony among Humans.

If there are no proper laws then different people can take advantage of their profession to supress others to their advantage. For example, a police officer has to follow certain laws even if he had a lot of power, if there are no strong laws against them then they can misuse their power for their personal purposes. For example, in Uttar Pradesh which is the largest state in India, police officers literally take money to do encounters. So, we need strict laws to prevent these.

Conclusion :

As I have provided irrefutable evidences in support of my point of view, I conclude my argument reiterationg that the statement "Many problems of .................. cannot be legislated" is partially acceptable.