The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A survey has shown that students who receive less homework assignments in the district of Marlee have better grades overall than those who receive more homework in the district of Sanlee. Based on such data, it is argued that high school teachers should assign no more than twice per week. Plaucible as it may seem at the first glance, the evidenced provided in the material are not strong enough to form this argument.

First, whether the survery is reliable enough remains unclear. For example, it doet not specify that how many students have been surveyed, not to mention whether the students who filled out the questionaires are biased or not. In brief, the sampling of the survey is ambigous so that it is not accountable to draw any conclusion from this survey if the scope of this survey is unclear.

Second, even the sampling of the survey is reliable, students from different school distircts have thier own situtations. To be more specific, Sanlee students may have less educational resourses than those in Marlee due to school budget, so it is very likely that it is the lack of resourses that causes the overall lower grades for Sanlee students. Also, the material does not present whether students from the two districts receive community supports of any kind. For example, the Marlee student may have more and better after-school programes funded by the community so that they learn more without doing more homework.

Third, even the students are using almost the same resourses, what if the test standards are different in the two districts? Like, the tests taken in Sanlee is difficult than the ones in Marlee, which tend to cause less outstanding performance in Sanlee. The grades under different standard are not comparable.

In sum, given that the sampling of the survey remains controversial, and that school districts are likely to be in different financial situation in terms of education resourse diffusion, and that the test standards are possible to be different, it is too early to jump to the conclusion that high school teacher should assign less workload. To be clear on the specific teaching plan, the teachers should gather together to disscuss the similar and different factors that may have effects on the students. Students