"DKLA was the innovator in the market for casual women's business apparel. Smith & Co. was once the leader in that market with $2 billion in sales until styles changed and Smith & Co.'s clothes went out of fashion. DKLA can also be expected to fail, especially because the market for casual women's business apparel is saturated."

The author of the argument states that DKLA is expected to fail just like Smith&Co. did because of the saturation of casual women's business apparel. While it may be true that the market for casual women apparels is saturated, the author does not make a cogent case and has not provided much information about it. The author's argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to convince the reader that saturation of the market will be the reason for the failure of DKLA.

Citing the evidence of Smith & co. , the author tries to support his claim, however, the question which needs to be answered is Smith &Co. clothes went out of fashion in which department. Even though the author has mentioned in the argument that Smith&Co. were the leaders in casual women's business apparel market with a sales turnover of $2 billion, he hasn't given evidence to prove the fact that it was the same department's clothes which went out of fashion. It could have been the men's style of clothing which would have changed or any other department. Unless the above mentioned information is not provided, it is unlikely to believe that the Smith & Co. failed in the women's apparel clothing.

Additionally,the author also implies that DKLA is also expected to fail in a similar fashion. But with the paucity of information provided, we cannot imagine that the Smith & co. would have failed. Even if their clothes would have gone out of fashion they would have bounced back with new updated designs of clothing and would have flourished. They are probably still the leaders in that market with a greater amount of sales.To strengthen his/her argument, the author would benefit if he/she would gather more facts about the Smith & Co. and their performance.

Another major assumption made is that market for casual women's business apparel is saturated. While it may be true, but again the author has failed to provide results to bolster his claim. There is a possibility it is the author own opinion and not the public opinion. There is also a chance that the market is facing a dearth of a variety of clothes and is desperately on the look out for new designs which DKLA might succeed in providing. DKLA (apparently the innovator in the market) might also come up with authentic strategies which might reverse the trends. The author doesn't come up with concrete evidences to buttress his argument.

To recapitulate, any of the author's claims might be true but he has failed to provide valid information. By examining all the various factors involved, the argument does not justify the saturation of market and DKLA's expected debacle in the sales of casual women's business apparel.