Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The author of the argument states that administration of inoculations has a small possibility which will result in the death of person. Hence it cannot be used as a remedy for cow flu on a routine basis. While it may be true that administration of inoculations can be fatal but the author doesn't provide a cogent case in order to prevent it from being regularly used. It is easy to understand the author's concern towards the people but his argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, does not provide a strong reason to convince a reader inoculations are not safe.

The author's major assumption is that inoculations against cow flu might save many lives. The author himself is not sure whether the inoculation will preclude the spread of the disease or might save the person affected by the malady. He could have mentioned how the inoculation works and how it fights against the illness. There is a possibility that the inoculation doesn't work and the people who were once affected recovered naturally and not because of the medicine.

Additionally, author claims that there is small possibility that a person will die as a result of inoculations. But he has not provided enough evidence to bolster his/her claim. The major question which needs to be answered is: Did the person die because of inoculations? He/she might have expired due to some other illness or some accident. The reason for his/her death remains unknown. The author cannot simply assume that the person died because of inoculation. He/she has to investigate thoroughly before jumping into conclusions. There is a chance that the probability that a person will die after being inoculated is 1 in a million. In that case the claim made by the author seems to be redundant because every person's body is not similar and all the medicines inevitably do have some or the other side effect. It is also possible that the person who died might have been in his final stages when he/she was inoculated.

Another important piece of evidence which is missing is that whether the person who died was administered with the "cow flu" inoculation only or was he inoculated for some other illness. What if the cow flu inoculation is not fatal? It is possible that the cow flu inoculation is very effective and has been successful in eradicating the particular disease completely from the affected area. We cannot generalize the opinion about inoculation without knowing these variables. The author has failed to have considered these facts before drawing the final conclusion.

The litany of unaccounted assumptions made by the author seriously jeopardizes the surmise that inoculations are fatal in general and should not be routinely administered. Although the author is concerned about the health of the public he/she has to explore the extra variables associated with this case carefully and then draw a definitive conclusion.