"The most effective strategy for a company to use to maintain and increase profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards."

The author states that the most effective strategy for a company to maintain and increase its profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards. There are numerous ways by which a company can thrive. One of the most effective way is by boosting the employee's morale and drive him/her to work harder. Although, maintaining high moral principles in a company is an efficacious option, it cannot be considered the best and the most effective.

Maintaining ethical strategy is a must for any company, but just by sticking with that strategy is not going the help the company in the long run. It is supposed to formulate and implement lucrative methods and long term financial plans to increase its profitability, but at the same not jeopardize its moral principles. Shareholders are not going to look at the ethical strategy of a company they are going to invest in. Instead, they would be very keen on the performance of the organisation in the stock market and would rely on the profits it has been generating. A company has to project itself as a profit making organisation to the stockholders and consumer. This can be achieved by good advertising and management skills and not just by work ethics. A company would have a bleak future if it fails to attract consumers towards it.

On the other hand, having a completely unethical approach just for the sake of money would definitely harm the organisation. There have been a lot of cases which bolster this claim. Many companies in the past have duped naive people. There is no paucity of con artists in this world. For example, in India a education consulting agency had duped a student from a rural area of Rs. 56000 claiming they would get him admitted into one of the Ivy league colleges of the United States of America. The agency people decamped to another state after receiving the cheque. Much to his chagrin, the student realized that this after there was no response for several months from the agency. After a police complaint was logded, these charlatans were tracked down and put behind the bars. This example proves that not only an unethical approach would affect the company but also the consumers ho trust it.

To recapitulate, an ethical approach is a must for a company, but is should also be in constant look out for new long term financial plans and bring them into action. To completely rely on moral principles would prove to be imprudent and might affect the company in the long run.