The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider,

for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of

listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities

have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The recommendation of the manager of KNOW radio station to switch from rock-and-roll music to 24 hours news in order to attract older listerners and make KNOW radio more

profitable is based on a number of tendentious and naive assumptions. We need concrete evidences about many concomitant factors in order to evaluate the prediction made

by the manager.

First of all, out of the several factors suggested, the manager claims that the total number of listeners have declines and people over the age of fifty has dramatically

increased and bases his prediction of rock-and-roll music not succeeding due to these reasons. Here,the manager naively generalizes his assumption about people over

fifty years old.The manager does not provide any evidence to back his claim. It could be that many or most of the people over the age of fifty prefer rock-and-roll

music to classical music or news programs. In this situation, switching from rock-and-roll music could be detrimental to the radio station's popularity and can affect the business adversely.

Also, it could be that though the number of old people over the age of fifty increased, a significant percentage of the loyal listeners are the youngsters who prefer rock-and-roll music.

Changing from this to news program that effectively lead to loss of view base and subsequently predicted results of increased profit willnot be achieved and rather the station will be running into losses.

Thus, we need evidences on the preferences of the people over fifty years old and also, of all the other viewers of the radio station. A survey with relevant questions would

provide us evidence required to evaluate the prediction.

Though the manager claims that the total number of listeners have declined and percentage of older people increased, we do not know the extent of it. We need

percentage or numbers of the decline and increase in the percentage of people.If the older people population has increase by 10% while the total number of viewers declines by only 2%, then switching from

rock-and-roll music to 24 hours news program might not be effective. Also, total numbers of listeners could have declines due to multiple reasons and not just for playing rock-and-roll music.

It could be that rock-and-roll was the only genre broadcasted by KNOW radio station and people in search for diversity switched to other stations. It could be possible that KNOW radio station broadcasts a lot of

commercials in between radip programs that adds to the chagrin of the listeners. Listeners could also have switched to other channels because of disturbance in the channel of KNOW station.

Thus, we need to know the actual reasons as to why listeners declined. If it was due to disturbance in the channel, switching programs is not going to restore listener base or lead to

increased profitability. Similarly, if monotony is the problem then switching from rock-and-roll to 24 hour news program will have the same effect and npot achieve the desired result of attracting listeners.

They would perhaps need to diversify andmake their programs versatile engaging people from all age groups and preferences. Thus,we need evidences on the actual reasons for reduction in listeners.

The manager also bases his assumption that since music stores in their region reported decreased sales in rock-and-roll music, it signifies reduced preferences in that genre. Decrease in sales can be attributed to

a number of reasons; digital piracy have enabled people to download songs for free and thus, they need not spend money. It could be that music stores in general were facing low sales across all genres and not just rock-and-roll music.

Evidences on the overall sales of all music genres in the music stores could help us determine the validity of the prediction and if at all it will achieve desired results or not.

Lastly, the manager cites the example of success of the new stations in neibouring cities and claims that they are successful because of not playing rock and roll music. However, we have no evidence on how

those radio stations operate. They can play rock and roll music but make things interesting by bringing popular pop stars in their programs that leads to increased number of listeners. May be there is no disturbance in their channel.

Or may be they balance rock and roll with other types of music and also conduct various games and offer prizes to actively engage their listeners. These radio stations might not be playing 24 hours news but

the way they operate makes significant differenece and contributes to their success.

Thus, we need answers to preferences of listeners, numbers of reduction and reasons for reduction and overall sales report of the music stores along with reports on how other successful music stations operate in order to evaluate the prediction.