Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Laws are rules formulated by the constitution of any country to protect her citizens, to ensure the overall well being of all citizens, to protect individual rights

and to provide justice and promote fairness.Laws are not only restricted to condemning or restricting certain human activities but also encompass giving rights to people,

such as right to ownership, right to practice profession in all fairness and even targeted to protect the nation and environment that we are a part of. In short,

laws sets down the ground rules that we must abide by for our betterment. Many a times, laws are subjected to change depending on the need of the hour and the pressing circumstances of changing times

of present day society and in view of the best interest of the people it targets to protect. This being said, laws have limits.It cannot be exercised to tackle any problem

that we may encounter. Though I agree with the claim that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system, I beg to differ with the reason cited

that it is because laws cannot change what is in people's heart or mind. Not always by being able to change or influence people's mentality can laws solve ongoing problems of society.

In the following examples, I will provide some examples to strengthen my view.

When talking about problems of modern society, we must talk about the problems of unemployment. Unemployment is not a problem that can be resolved by formulated certain laws

or reduced by the help of the legal system.This is a problem which is much deep rooted and owes its source due to a number of reasons such as over population, a nation's resources,

the economic depression that could have greatly led to the situation of massive unemployment. For example, the recession in IT in US back in 2008 was so bad that it not only led

to widespread loss of jobs and unemployment in the US but also impacted other countries like India where most of the jobs were outsourced from US. Thus, unemployment

can be the result of rippling effect of multiple factors and can affect people globally. It is beyond the scope of law or geal system alone to tackle this problem. It requires

proper evaluation of market situation by financial experts, economists of the nation and efforts from the government to somewhat tackle this problem of modern society.

Over population is another problem of modern society that leads to series of problems like pollution, scarcity of resources and unemployment. No law or government can explicitly

put a restriction on birth rates. First of all, giving birth is a matter of natural right where law cannot justifiably try to exercise any control. For example, until recently, for a couple of years, to

curtail the problem of overpopulation, the chinese government exercised tax for families having more than one kid.However,tha is the extent to which law can exercise its limits; not beyond that.

People do understand the problems of both unemployment and over population, however that understanding alone is not sufficient to tackle problems. Nationwide awareness campaigns with help from

government and others can help to control these problems to some extent. Thus, though people are willing to take care of these problems, law alone cannot solve them.

Another pressing problem of modern society is excessive environmental pollution and as well loss of ecological diversity.Now, in these two cases, many efforts by the

legal system have led to massive improvement. By enforcing strict laws, people are bound to change their mentality. Laws to prevent using CFCs in refrigerators,

regular monitoring of automobile exhaust, taking strict measures in ensuring water bodies are protected and wastes from factories are not dumped, we have been able to substantially reduce pollution.

By protecting endangered species like tigers and whales, laws have to some extent preserved ecological diversity but many a times, these problems are beyond the control of law. The recent fire at Amazon forest was a natural disaster that nolaw could have prevented.

Thus, in these examples we see that merely changing people's mind does not ensure success of law in solving modern society's problems because certain problems are inherently natural requiring conglomeration

of efforts in multiple directions and precautions to solve them.