The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation is a valuable character trait that must be taught and encouraged. Competition is a natural character quality that although useful, can become dangerous. Rather than competition, society should instill a sense of cooperation in young people.

Emphasizing a spirit of cooperation allows individuals to grow as they take into account different perspectives. This breeds success in the occupational world. Cooperation requires mindfulness and compromise as people learn to accept that those around us do not view the world as we do. As children openly experience the differences in individuals they are surrounded by they adopt new perspectives and come to understand that another's way of living is as equally valuable, and humbly recognize change might be necessary for their own lives. Think about the owner of a company insisting their thoughts are more valuable than the rest of the companies. This corporation would realistically, fail. Cooperation fosters growth and growth helps lead develop well-rounded leaders. Children must be taught cooperation at a young age so that they embrace this concept in the future.

In society today, a competitive drive is vital to win; however, daily life goes beyond beating the competition. Competition teaches us perseverance, determination, and encourages us to reach our potential, but if not tempered with humility, it can lead to selfishness. For example, Steve Jobs, an incredible inventor and leader, had a team of scientists and technologists challenging his thoughts and pushing him to do his best. If he would have disregarded their professional opinions, his designs and visions may never have left the planning stage. Similarly, children need to be raised with an attitude that accepts and embodies the perspectives of others to reach their full potential. Behind every successful leader, is a team offering different perspectives and views waiting to be acknowledged and put into practice through cooperation.

Cooperation must be instilled in youth. Nurturing a cooperative spirit in children allows for them to grow to become well-rounded and considerate leaders who accept the viewpoints of others and use them to foster growth in their own lives.