The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department

The author’s argument on decline in revenue of the company due to manufacturing delay is flawed. In the argument the author projects the delay in manufacturing as an effect caused due to poor planning in purchasing metals whereas the delay can be due to other units or environmental aspects as well. The author also describes the educational background of purchasing manager rather the professional experience of the manager and concludes the argument inappropriately suggesting to move the manager to sales department and appoint a material scientist of R&D as manager.

Firstly, the failing revenue of the company can be due to delays in procurement of resources, processing unit, quality control or packaging unit etc. As the manufacturing of product involves estimation of cost involved, skilled workmen and machinery aspects the procurement and processing of product may affect the manufacturing of complete product for distribution.

Secondly, Even if the planning of materials, allocation of contracts, finalizing the supplier as executed as per planned the delay can be caused from supplier side due to non-availability of raw metals, environmental and political challenges or agitation by workmen can also cause delay in manufacturing of the product.

Thirdly, The educational background mentioned in the argument logically suggests as he is the right person in for the position as purchasing manager than a research scientist as he has better understanding about the markets trends on availability of materials and other challenges can impose liquidative damages for reviving the cost from supplier. His back ground in sociology will help in subsiding the agitations caused by workmen and provide a solution which is beneficial for both organization and workmen. Where as a research scientist may or may not handle such situations effectively.

As the argument presented by the author is not persuasive as it fails to address the above mentioned items. The argument fails to support the conclusion by the author due to weak evidence. To strengthen the argument the author must provide more logical and statistical information in support of a research scientist.