The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article, the author states that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertia village is invalid and that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is also invalid. He comes to this conclusion based on the interview-centered method his team of graduate students is conducting. However, before concluding that the observation-centered approach to studying is invalid we have to carefully examine the assumptions of the interview-centered approach.

Firstly, there is a gap of 20 years between the study of Dr. Field and Dr. Karp, so there might have been some changes in the method of doing things between then and now. Maybe the children spend more time in education and less time interacting with elders. It is also possible that there is a change in the relationship between families so the interaction also changes. If either of these has merit then the conclusion drawn in the above argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the children talking more about parents than elders doesn’t mean that the children are not reared by the entire village. The author prematurely assumes that the children are not reared by the entire village. However, this might not be the case maybe the children are scared, anxious, and nervous to talk to strangers who look different than what they are used to see, and talk about their parents because they regularly see them. If the above is true then the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, the writer infers that the observation-centered approach is wrong and the interview-centered approach is the correct way based on one example conducted on children of a rural village which is quite fallacious.

From the above observations, we can conclude that the argument is considerably flawed because it relies on unwarranted assumptions. If the columnist can provide more evidence probably we can consider using anr cultures. interview-based approach in understanding traditions and cultures.