The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation- A centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

Cited from the article written by Dr. Karp : The conclusions of the observation-centered approach conducted by Dr. Field is invalid and thus the interview-centered approach by Dr. Karp and team gives more accurate understanding of studying cultures. This argument written in the article is invalid as it is based on unstated assumptions caused by lack of exhaustive research and generalization of the two methods. The following set of evidences are required to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the author, Dr. Karp, is too quick to assume that the interview-centered method performed by his team is accurate and depicts the real scenario of the child rearing practice in the group of islands containing Tertia. He fails to provide evidence that the interview questions were not biased. Perhaps, for instance, it might be the case that the interview questions were designed to focus on the biological parents only rather than about the other village members. Perhaps, the team members were not true to their job and thus there is a chance that the results are tainted. If this is the case then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the scope of study in both the approaches are not defined in the article articulately. Since it is mentioned that the Dr. Karp's study was about overall culture of the society thus might have given less focus on the child rearing practices, which is the prime focus of Dr. Field's study. Similarly, evidence about what are the bases of comparison between the Tertia and other islands in that region. The evidence related to these would unveil the real scenario and thus would make the argument's credibility fragile.

Furthermore, the author, Dr. Karp, assumes that the results of a observation done twenty years ago can be comparable with the new approach performed in that region. The evidence about the family structure, employment status, lifestyle etc needs to be assessed before comparing the results of two methods done twenty years apart. Perhaps, for instance, the people of Tertia island were involved in mining works and thus all of the children were reared by a group of society member for ease. But now, due to the increase in income the females are not in work and thus take care of their children themselves.

To conclude, the argument made by Dr. Karp is invalid at best until different evidences required discussed in above paragraphs are known to the mem