The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp argues that observation-centric approach to studying cultures is invalid and the interview-centered method is more accurate. He proposes this argument based on the discrepancy of his recent findings with the earlier findings of Dr. Field, in terms of child rearing in Tertia. However, to prove the supremacy of interview-centric approach here are the evidences he needs to supply.

Firstly, Dr. Karp must supply the list of participants who participated in his study. He states that Dr. Field conducted a study in Tertia and he himself has conducted the study in a group of island containing Tertia. However, we do not know whether Tertian children were represented in the group adequately. It is possible that other islands nearby Tertia may have different child rearing culture which Dr. Karp has investigated. However, this does not make Dr. Field's study invalid who has done exclusive research on Tertian culture. If it is found that the representation of Tertia in study's participants was not adequate, then Dr. Field's study can not be repudiated and hence his observation-centric approach can not be judged.

Secondly, Dr. Karp must provide the list of questions he asked the participants of the study. He states that they talked more about their biological parents than other adults of the village. However, if he asked them questions only about their parents, it is logical for them to do that. Based on this evidence alone, one can not say that Dr. Field was wrong in his study. Once the list of questions are examined, one can be sure about the evidence provided by Dr. Karp to strengthen his argument. If it is found that he questioned them about their parents only then there will be no evidence to repudiate Dr. Field's methods.

Thirdly, there is a significant time gap of twenty years between Dr. Field and Dr. Karp's studies. It might be possible that the child rearing culture of Tertia changed during this time due to globalization. To confirm this, Dr. Karp must conduct a similar study on an older group of people. Only once we know the results of this different study, will we be able to judge Dr. Field's study and his methods.

Lastly, even if all of the above evidence favors Dr. Karp's argument one can not be certain that observation-centric approach leads to inaccurate results. Since one instance is not enough to reject a technique of research, even more so in a highly subjective field such as this. He must provide more examples where interview-centric approaches give different results than observation-centric approach. He must take care to conduct studies on same or similar group of people and ask them questions about what he observed while doing observation-centric part of the study. If he gets inconsistent result most of the times then it can be argued that one of the methods is wrong.

Therefore, the argument that Dr. Karp has proposed, as it stands now, is flawed. Due to the lack of more evidence, Dr.Field's studies can not be judged adequately and hence can not be rejected.