The government should ultimately be responsible for the health, welfare and prosperity of its own citizens.

Write a response discussing your reaction to the stated policy.Justify your reasoning for the position you take.

The well-being of people is a duty of the nation they belong to. The nation, or the government, must frame policies to improve the living condition of its citizens. It is the one that should ultimately be held responsible for the health, welfare and prosperity of its citizens.

The main responsibilities of a nation should be the improving health and welfare of its citizens and making them prosperous. If not that, what exactly is the use of living together in a nation? The early humans formed agricultural societies for mutual gain. Had the societal structure of life not benefit us in the past, we wouldn't have stuck to it for thousands of years. Thus, it is imperative that nations work according to the policy of betterment of its citizens to prevent their own demise. Otherwise, it is better to live as hunter gatherer when one has to look for his own need.

Most nations have fundamental duties assigned for its citizens. By the same logic, it is a duty of the nation to take care of its population. Just like paying taxes is a duty of the citizens, it is the duty of a nation to work for betterment of its people. The tax paid by the citizens should be used for building infrastructure and running services that make life easier for a citizen. The nation should also provides opportunities for citizens to grow. All of this leads to more prosperous citizens and the nation as a whole.

As a result of the nation working for betterment of its people, it is the nation itself that will reap benefits. The fate of any nation is determined by that of its people. A more prosperous citizen will be happier. This, consequently, will create an atmosphere of happiness and prosperity in the country. Peace within the nation makes a government's work easy. There will be more innovations and inventions, now that people don't have to worry about petty things, which will benefit the nation even further. So, for its own benefit, the nation must take care of the benefit of its citizens.

To recapitulate, people started living together to make life easier and the betterment of each life make the collective society better. People pay taxes to live as a nation and these taxes must be used for the benefit of the people, or else there is no use living together. Hence, the main aim of a nation must be improving the health, welfare and prosperity of its citizens.