Governments in democratic societies should not restrict the public's access to information, even if it is of sensitive or classified nature.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

Democracy, in the words of Abraham Lincoln, stands for - a government by the people, for the people and of the people. One might go as far as to argue that the people should have unrestricted access to information, since informed decisions will lead to better governance. To examine the consequences of such an action one must consider all its effects - the good and the ugly. In my opinion, public's access to sensitive and classified information should be restricted. However, a check must be placed on the government so that it does not abuse this monopoly over information.

The argument to provide public with unrestricted access to information in a democracy is based on the false assumption that everyone in the nation is more motivated towards the nation's betterment than their personal gains. An individual might, for instance, trade nation's secrets with inimical nations in return for some personal advantage. Such a scenario calls for restriction of public access to classified information - such as military deals and inventions for the military. Also, keeping such sensitive information in the open can easily be abused by enemies of the state. Such information, therefore, must be protected at all costs.

However, there must be a higher authority to audit the information. Lack of such a check on the government allows it to abuse the trust of the people. For instance, wikileaks had released the names of people who have amassed huge amount of black money in India by corruption. Some government dealings with other nations to procure military weapons and technologies are also ridden with corruption. Such bastardization in governance can not be checked if there is no transparency in governance. Hence people must be provided access to the information. The restriction on it, however, is necessary due to the reason stated before.

To conclude, one can say that the public must be allowed limited access to information because some information - of the sensitive and classified kind - can not be trusted to be shared with everyone. At the same time, however, nation can not ignore the right to information of its citizens. This endangers the very tenets of democracy. Hence, there is a very thin line that must be followed for optimal governance.