The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Movies Galore's owner argues that closing their stores earlier and reducing the stock of movies will help them cope up with declining profits. They provide the evidence of a store in downtown Marston that did the same and reduced their operating costs by a significant proportion. However, the argument is seriously flawed and the owner need to provide following questions before a recommendation can be made.

Firstly, are the operating costs significant enough to be reduced? It might be that they are already very low and it is the people who, in the presence of streaming services like Netflix and Hotstar, do not use Movies Galore's stores to buy movies.They might enjoy the convenience of these streaming services and do not bother to visit Movies Galore stores to rent out movies. In such a scenario, even reducing the operating costs will not lead to better profits.

Secondly, what are the sales statistics of downtown Marston store that implemented the recommendations? It is mentioned that the store reduced its operating expenses which is expected, but did it gain profit by doing that? This is the question that needs to be answered for judging the recommendation's validity.It is possible that the store lost its reputation in the community by implementing these changes. If this is true then the changes are specious. It might be possible that the store lost even more customers by doing so, in which case the argument would not hold water.

Thirdly, will reducing stock not jeopardise the good name of Movies Galore? A statistical analysis of the movies rented out by the customers is necessary before reducing the stock of movies. It might be possible that people come to Movies Galore to get the classics such as Godfather and American psycho. If this is true, reducing the stockpile would tarnish the image of Movies Galore, lead to a further decline in the customers and hence the profits. In addition to this, one must enquire whether closing the store early will lead to loss of customers? Another statistical analysis on the times of purchases will provide the most busy hours of the stores. For instance, if it is found that people come to Movies Galore after 6 pm for renting movies for late night binge watching, then it would be detrimental to Movies Galore to shut down the stores at 6 pm. They would lose most of the customers and their profits will decline even further.

To conclude,the argument proposed by Movies Galore's owner, as it stands now, is flawed. The above questions must be answered before implementing any operational changes at Movies Galore. Answering these questions will lead to definitive conclusion about the viability of making such changes.