Claim: Military training strategies, such as unit cohesion and drilling, are powerful techniques to use in a classroom.

Reason: These strategies allow students to focus on a task and think like a team, supporting one another to reach a goal.

Develop a response to the claim in which you discuss whether or not you agree with it. Focus specifically on whether or not you agree with the reason upon which the claim is based.

Military training strategies, when used in classroom, are useful in building team spirit in students. They also increase problem solving capabilities and focus of students. These are the essential qualities for doing good in real world and should be imparted by any classroom. I agree with the claim due to the following reasons.

Firstly, military training strategies are designed to be all-inclusive. This ensures that all students are involved in the task. This, in contrast with regular classroom teaching methods, encourages everyone to think. Hence learning for everyone is better. For instance, consider a typical classroom where teacher asks a question and one student answers. Other students are expected to listen carefully but there is no guarantee that they will, nor is there any incentive to do so. On the other hand a team exercise like military unit cohesion is designed such that it can not be completed even if a single student is remiss.

Secondly, they allow the students to understand each others strengths and weaknesses. This is crucial for effective team work and allows them to think like a team. One student might be good at something another is bad at, and hence undertake appropriate role for completion of task. This allows them to take full advantage of the team. Eventually they begin acknowledging people's qualities in life too and this makes the world a better place for all.

Thirdly, military is most crucial for a country and the strategies for training it are designed with care and diligence. Hence taking advantage of the strategies in classrooms is only bound to give better performance in terms of team spirit and personal focus. One may argue that the effects of military training might not carry over to a classroom setting. However, one may learn from military training and then transfer that to classroom setting. An analysis of the military training methods will reveal the basic principles on which a method is based. A new training program, based on these principles, can be remodelled for classroom needs.

To summarise, military training strategies include everyone in the group and build a strong team spirit. They are carefully designed and must be taken advantage of in classroom setting. Hence they are powerful techniques to use in a classroom.