The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Before concluding with dr. Karp's position that his interview-centered method will provide much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in tertia than dr. field's observation-centered approach, there are some assumptions that we need to address.

First of all, dr. field's observation was made alone and twenty years ago. However, dr. Karp's interview-centered method was executed by a team of his graduate students rather than by himself twenty years later. we do not know whether the child-rearing traditions have been changed within these twenty years due to some siginificant social event or realization such as children exhibiting more externalizing behaviors due to lack of strong attachment and relationship with their biological parents. The newer village adults and parents may have realized this and adopted more family oriented rearing practices rather than entire village oriented rearing practices. if this is true, this will weaken dr. Karp's arguement that his observation-centered approach provides more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in tertia and other villages.

Another difference is who conducted or rather, who collected the data for the research study. In dr. field's research, he, himself, conducted and collected the data himself by his observation. Of course, this may not be as reliable and valid as other methods of collecting data in this field of area amost the academic community, but this cannot be used as an evidence for dr. Karp's position. if anything, dr. field probably far outstands the education level and experience than any one individual of dr. Karp's graduate students because he has earned his licensure and doctor title for him to lead his own research study. Depending on this difference in educational level and experience between dr. field and dr. field's grdauate students, it may also weaken dr. Karp's arguement.