The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the proposal and the argument made in the recent memo by the director of student housing at Buckingham college for building new dormitories sounds very promising and optimistic, there are three assumptions that need to be addressed and evaluated before making a rash decision because not everything goes as what we hope or plan to go.

The first assumption that needs to be looked at is the current trend of increasing enrollment at the college. even if this trend continues and the enrollments double over the next 50 years as the director predicts, if the number of students graduating are decreasing and the number of students leaving the college are increasing either via transfer to another school or expulsion due to failing grades, then building new dormitories may be a risky decision because the number of students actually attending college will not change much and the college will lose money with many vacancies in their dormitories.

The second assumption that needs to be considered is the increasing rent for the apartments in off-campus housing. there must be a reason why the average rent for the apartments in town is rising. For instance, if there is gentrification underway in this town and if this is part of the reason for the increasing trend of enrollments, then even after the new dormitories are built, students may still prefer to live off-campus despite the rising rent price.

The third assumption that the director should examine is whether new dormitories would be attractive enough to make prospective students more likely to enroll at the Buckingham college. A simple poll or survey of current student body might show if they prefer to live in the new dormitories or off-campus housing and a qualitative analysis of reasons why may show whether they would keep their current opinions.