To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given statement which argues that, one should study the major cities of society in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, largely focuses only on major cities and assumes that other locations that do not fall under ‘major’ cities such as rural areas cannot convey important characteristics of a society. Consequently, this statement may hold true and may not hold true depending on the two considerations.

First of all, whether major cities should be studied depends on how one defines the most important characteristics of society to be. For instance, if the most important characteristic of a society is the demographics of its citizens, then, New York City is a great representation of United States. As one of the largest cities in the U.S., the diversity of the inhabitants who live in NYC truly epitomize the melting pot culture of the U.S. It was published few years ago in the New York Times that, 365 days in a year would not be enough to try all the restaurants of different cuisines in the city. However, if you were to look at a major city in New Hampshire for example, its major white population does not represent the melting pot culture of the U.S. well since those residents have far less exposure to other ethnic population as NYC.

Second of all, whether major cities should be studied in order to understand the important characteristics of a society also depends on if.