Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument that so-called “Palean” baskets with a distinctive pattern were not uniquely Palean due to a recent discovery of such basket in Lithos by the archaeologists lacks three specific evidences in order to evaluate the argument and thus, three assumptions should be addressed.

First of all, one of the reasons why Palean baskets are now thought to be not uniquely Palean is because The Brim River is very deep and broad and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat but no Palean boats have been found. However, whether Brim River was also very deep and broad during the time Palean baskets were created and used is unknown. If the Brim River was not so deep and broad during this time and ancient Paleans were easily able to travel across the river to Lithos by foot then, the argument would be very weakened and the those so-called Palean baskets can still be uniquely Palean.

Secondly, there is no information on how much investigation efforts and resources were spent on looking for Palean boats. If the Palean baskets were more studied due to its higher historic value than the Palean boats then, there still might be a possibility that Palean boats would be found in the future and that would explain how Palean baskets arrived at Lithos. If this indeed happens, the argument would also be weakened and the Palean baskets can still be uniquely Palean made.

Thirdly, could there be any other way for Palean baskets to be found in Lithos other than ancient Paleans personally traveling carrying the baskets across the Brim River by the boats? Perhaps, one of the young aged ancient Paleans were playing with the baskets by the river and may have inadvertently lost grasp of the basket and it floated on its own across the river and ancient inhabitants from Lithos picked it up and started using it. Those other ways of the baskets traveling across the river other than personal touch of ancient Paleans would weaken the argument that those cannot be uniquely Palean anymore.

In conclusion, above evidences are needed to evaluate that Palean.