The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes that interview centered method for understanding the child-rearing situation in Tertia and other island cultures is much accurate than observation centered approach.This conclusion is based on the premise that the Dr. Karp’s study rendered different result than the earlier anthropologist who used observation centered approch. However the argument takes many assumptions that the author does not provide justification to.

Firstly, the author fails to consider that even if the interview-centered approach renders the correct result in Tertian and nearby islands, the same might not work in other island cultures. As there is no such evidence that natives of other island culture may render humility to support any kind of study. Moreover, it is difficult to say that whether they would be able to communicate at all in any language understandable to the graduate students carrying out the study.

Secondly, as there is considerable time gap between Dr. Field’s study and the author’s recent interviews it might be possible that the social culture within the island has changed, and in such a case both of the scientist are correct in their conclusion of the study. Hence there is no reason to believe that one method might be superior than another. So in such a situation, it would be necessary to note that whether there have been any change in the child rearing in last twenty years.

Finally, there is no such evidence to prove that the children chosen for the study are representative of the complete population. This might be a rare co-incidence that the sample selected, turns out to disapprove Dr. Field’s conclusion.

Hence, the argument conclusion that interview centered method for understanding the child-rearing situation in Tertia and other island cultures is much accurate than observation centered approach, is flawed. If the author demonstrated that his results was not merely due to selective sampling, and can be reciprocated in other islands as well, the argument would be greatly strengthened. However, in its current form it would be to wrong to accept the conclusion.