“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

The argument that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignoring the negative actions is contentious. While both sides have their strengths and weakness, I believe that when done in the right way and with right attitude, focus on negative action by a guide or teacher complements the praise of positive actions.

Firstly, there might be a situation where an individual is unable to understand his mistakes on his own and might continue with the wrong path forward while ramifications would have been necessary. For instance, it is as important for a coach to criticize his team as frequently as he praises them for success.

Secondly, in some situation where praise and glorification is the only focus, the student might get over confident and develop overbearing pride. So, the duty of a good teacher should not just to praise his/her disciple’s right moves, but to point out the negatives so as to keep them grounded and on path of success.

Some might argue that focus on negatives by a teacher might undermine the confidence of a student. However this reasoning is flawed and subjective to the attitude shown by the teacher, as when communicated in correct manner, constructive feedback can avoid the same mistakes in the future and keep the zeal of the student alive.

In conclusion the focus should be not only on the positive actions, but also on the negative side for continuous improvement.