The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of Islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertia village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child –rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response to which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The methodology as well as the size of the group upon which Dr. Field based his observation is not known. However, Dr. Karp mentioned observation-centered approach in contrast with interview-centered approach. One could assume that Dr. Field’s methodology was observation-centered approach which may not be the truth. It is possible that Dr. Field got to speak with some of the children in the community, may be two or three children during his visit. Also, there is tendency that the people in the Island were celebrating an annual festival as at the time of his visit. He might have mistaken the gathering of children eating together to be that of a community in which children were reared by a community. In fact, it could be that the children from which his observation was made belong to the same father with many wives. The context in which the observation was made need to be known.

Further, Dr. Karp asserted that children in the groups of Island including Tertia spend most of their time talking about their biological parents. It is glaring that the study by Dr. Karp didn’t cover just Island of Tertia. It is possible that none of the children in the island of Tertia were interviewed and a general assumption was made from the observation from small groups of children in other island. Also, we do not know the kind of questions asked while interviewing the children, it might be such question that centers on their biological parents and not on how they are being raised in the community. The size of the children interviewed to make such conclusion is not known as well.

Also, Dr. Karp carried out his experiment twenty years after Dr. Field’s observation. It is possible that the occupants of the Island, twenty years ago, are different in culture and some other areas from the current inhabitant of the Island. Peradventure, Dr. Karp considered the Island of Tertia for his research, the long age difference will likely make his observation not to be logically comparable with that of Dr. Field. And for his conclusion of rendering observation-centered approach invalid to be true, it will be wise to compare his experiment with a recent experiment that used observation-centered approach and all subjected to the same condition.

In conclusion, to ascertain Dr. Karp’s claim, there is need to subject the two methods to the same condition and preferably conducted at the same time. And if Dr. Karp and Dr. Fields’ experiments are to be compared at all, Dr. Karp should do well to understand the condition upon which Dr. fields observation was made and also ensure that the people of the Island of Tertia, as at the time of conducting his experiments have similar cultural beliefs.