The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument, Dr. Karp tries to prove the observation made by Dr. Field on the Tertia island about the child-rearing tradition invalid with his interview-centered approach. Though some of the lines in the argument seem persuasive, there are various illogical fallacies that need to be considered before making a conclusion to employ the interview-centered approach of studying in other island culture.

First of all, The recent interview with children living in a group of the island including Tertia has a flaw in itself. The author specifically wants to assert the child-rearing tradition in Tertia island but, the interview was taken with other island children also. The author also failed to mention how many interviewees participate in the interview. The author should have addressed the extent to which children interview was taken and for the specific set of the participant from the Tertia island before drawing the above conclusion from the argument.

Secondly, The author concludes his interview-centered approach to be better than the observation-centered approach of Dr. Field based on the time children spend talking more about biological parents rather than the other adults of the village. This line can be flawed seriously because the author didn’t address what children were talking about their parents. Are they talking about the absence of their parents while being rared? Are they clueless to talk about their culture in the mass of many interviewees? How old were those children? Were they able to give the interview correct? The author leaves many questions about how and under what circumstance the interview was taken by putting a black box in his argument.

Finally, He can’t conclude his interview-centered approach to be valid in comparison to observation-centered approach without understanding the details of the method applied by Dr. Field. Furthermore, Observation generally takes a long time of study than an interview; that implies, the study done for a longer period of time is more likely to be valid than a study done in short time aka. Interview. Also, the Author mentioned that interview was taken by his team of graduate students but not by himself, which also leaves fallacies in his argument about the validity of the interview.

In light of the above discrepancies, the author’s conclusion based on his argument seems unwarranted. The author should consider correcting his argument to conclude his interview-centered approach a valid method for the further study of other island cultures.