School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

School is a foundation for students to thrive in the modern competitive world. The academic aspect of adulthood involves how to sustain and approach a career in life.,While nonacademic aspect of adulthood involves how to be a better person in the society which is mostly being self-taught by our.self, School aiding students in nonacademic aspects of adulthood not only prepares students to stand out better human being in society but also help them in a crucial time of their career.

To begin with, Being expertise in academic activities don’t necessarily make people a good individual in the society, for this one need to have good interpersonal and social-able character. Even in a job or whatever path in our career we are, we need to have such nonacademic skill. For instance, nowadays, the vacancy post for jobs in most companies include job description about the need of a candidate with social and interpersonal skills along with the academic aspect of requirement. The need of nonacademic skills is equally important as academic skills seems crucial and it led us to the question, shouldn’t school be ready already to prepare students with both kind of skills? Shouldn’t we change the archaic school structure?

In modern society, Parents seems to be less available to provide time to their children because of their work and emphasis on their own career. Most of them, rely on schools to prepare their children for adulthood. For instance, In Asian countries, Child grown in the hostel of school rather than family are most likely to abandon their parents in the future when it is about taking care of parents. In some way or another, the way our society is modernizing would hinder the transition of childhood to adulthood and the role of the school to alleviate this problem seems imminent.

Some people might argue that, when school involves in teaching students nonacademic skills, It would be more like rules or regulation that students need to obey and moderate the freedom of student. It is true but when it is about teaching nonacademic skills to children, the school should rather teach them in a way students don’t feel boredom and teaching should seem unacknowledged. In conclusion, The school should prepare students with both academic and non-academic skills.