The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it might be true that sales of Whirlwind video games will increase in the next few months; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand that lifelike graphics video games might be popular to twenty-five years old video gamers, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefor, not strong enough to lead to introduce several such games in a market.

The author implies that Whirlwind video games did not have enough sales in past two years, however the author does not mention about reasons for declined sale. For example, the game might not be affordable for everyone which can be the main explanation for decreased sale. On the other hand, the quality of the game might not be attractive enough to players. To strengthen his or her suggestion the author needs investigations about the explanations of decreased sale.

Additionally, the author mentions that the survey's result shows that players prefer lifelike graphics video games. However, there is no information about the sample group. Imagine just few young boys answered the survey's questions which indicates that the sample group is not big enough. Moreover, the author indicates that the lifelike graphics requires the most up-to-date computers which can be a reason for the company to not have enough sale. Video game players who do not have the most up-to-date computes available are not going to buy such a game.

The author indicates that Whirlwind has an extensive advertising for twenty-five years old group. However, the author does not consider other age groups such as high-school age or over thirty years old group who are interested to buy such a game too. In addition, the author mentions that introduction new version of such a video game is going to increase the sales in the next few months which is not a strong assumption. Only few months might not be enough time for buyers to get familiar with the new kind of video game or to buy the updated computer.

The author's suggestion is persuasive when he or she gathers information about the survey's sample group and the age of video game buyers. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.