The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author contends that the sales of Whirlwind video games will increase in the near future. The author arrives at this conclusion by stating the results of a survey that show that video gamers prefer lifelike graphics, and Whirlwind video games introduced such games to the market. The argument is based on many unwarranted assumptions that, if proved to be false, can seriously jeopardise it.

Firstly, the author assumes that the subjects questioned in the survey are indicative of all or even the majority of video gamers. It is possible that the subjects of the survey comprise only a smattering of the entire video gamer demographic. Perhaps the subjects come from an especially rich household and can afford up-to-date computers. It is also possible that the majority of video gamers actually prefer a game that is more accessible and can be played on any computer. If this is the case, then the argument put forth by the author does not hold water.

Secondly, the author also assumes that the most important feature of a game is the only feature that pushes gamers to buy the product. Perhaps video gamers also take into consideration other features like multiplayer connectivity, an open-world experience, and/or price. It might be the case that video gamers consider lifelike graphics to be the most important feature, but this does not necessarily push them to buy a game solely for this reason. If this is the case, then the argument upon which the conclusion stands does not lack merit.

Thirdly, the author also assumes that the audience targeted in the campaign is the same demographic as the survey subjects. It is possible that the subjects of the survey were much older than 25 years old, and their preferences differ drastically from those of the younger generation. It might also be possible that the games offered by Whirlwind video games do not appeal to the taste of the younger generation, or that the requirements to play this game cannot be met by them. If this is the case, then Whirlwind video games would be better off promoting their games to the older generation. But, as it currently stands, the argument stated by the author is not cogent.

In conclusion, further information regarding the subjects of the survey, the defining aspects of the video games offered, and data regarding the preferences of the targeted audience would help in better evaluating the argument. As it stands, the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions, which make it nothing but spurious conjecture.