"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The president of Humana University recommends offering online degree programs in order to increase its total enrollment and also help alleviate its budget problems. The president offers Omni University’s example to buttress his/her claims. Although the prediction might seem cogent at a cursory glance, certain questions need to be answered in order to evaluate it properly.

Firstly, the president assumes that the expenditures for dormitory and classroom space got reduced due to the online programs. An important question here is, did the cost decrease due to efficient management? Perhaps, Omni University started using efficient LED’s in the dormitories in order to reduce the number of times the lightbulbs needed to be changed. It is also likely that they started using more congested classrooms in order to fit more students in a single classroom.

Secondly, the president believes that promoting online programs will yield the same results produced by Omni. To better evaluate this argument, an important question must be answered. Are the students of the two universities comparable? Perhaps, Omni offers a special scholarship program to the students who choose online program. It is also likely that Omni caters to students living abroad and most of them prefer to study online in order to curtail the cost of moving to a new country in order to study.

At last, the president assumes that introducing these online degree programs will not only increase the total enrollment, but also solve budget problems. This argument seems premature and specious and an important question must be answered. Will the institution of these online degree programs be profitable for the university? Instituting an online degree program will require considerable recruitment funding and also technical funding. This might also result in a reduction of students who enroll for offline programs as they might have chosen Humana solely based on the fact that Humana offers offline only courses. Perhaps, Humana has a reputation of offering good offline faculty and distributing this faculty online will reduce the interest of many students.

In conclusion, the prediction put forth by the president and the arguments upon which it is based can only be evaluated if the questions regarding the manner in which Omni managed to reduce the costs of dormitory maintenance, the students who are enrolled or who prefer to enroll in Omni University and the profitability of introducing such programs at Humana are answered. As it stands, the president’s prediction does not seem probable.