The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In today's world of ever-increasing developments and advancements, people are pushing hard to cope up with this running world. In every field, there are thousands of people volunteering or trying to secure their positions. There is competition everywhere, no place in the world is left where you can get on top easily without competing. So one has to get in his/her strides from a very early stage and keep on striving for success it till one comes on top. In my opinion, this competition is necessary and so I disagree with the author that the best way to prepare young people for leadership is through only cooperation and not competition.

Firstly, nowadays everybody dreams of achieving the best despite of the backgrounds they come from. So there is a lot of competition in every field to gain the topmost spot. This competition plays an indispensable role in any individual's life. In my view, people from a very early age must be taught to compete for their position as they understand the importance of it from a very early age and not take the position for granted. For instance, consider the example of the Indian cricketer MS Dhoni. Ms. Dhoni hails from a very small village in Jharkhand. At his start of the career, he had to compete with big giants of the game like Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid to get that Indian captainship. It was his zest for the competition that made encouraged him and we can see the success he has achieved with it. Similarly, in every field be it politics, industry, or any other the sense to compete for anything is necessary.

However, I agree that instilling a sense of cooperation is also a vital part to prepare the young. But, the world today has changed drastically. Everybody in this world is not as selfless as they were before. People only care for their success and not for anyone else. For instance, in the case of the tech giant Mr. Ratan Tata. He is one of the most artless men who is leading the Tata industries. He has always cooperated in every field rather than just focussing on his company's interests. So people must be taught to be like him and contribute in every field by cooperation.

To conclude, I would like to say that competition is one of the best forms of encouragement one can get to achieve whatever one dreams of. To compete, will teach him not only the importance of that field but the motivation to get on top. So I believe competition is a must in every field be it science, politics, sports, or any other.