The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the argument has some merit, such as recommendations for the traffic problem on Blue Highway, its line of reasoning requires close examination and certain important questions need to be answered in order for these recommendations to be considered.

To begin with, the given article states how commuters have recently been complaining about the rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway for their commute from the suburbs and the city, the author states that the motorists lobby of this set of commuters suggests that the road be widened by adding an additional lane to the highway. The main question to be answered here is , Are there enough funds with the city council for such a project?, if no, are the motorist’s willing to provide an alternative solution to this problem. The statistics about the funds allocated to the Roads and Highways would strengthen the argument and the suggestion made by the motorists might be one point of consideration. Moreover , the term “motorists lobby” is a very vague term and does not indicate actually how many people are in favor of this suggestion, for instance the statistics such as 10 in every 100 people are in the favor might add a plausible connotation to this favor.

Secondly, author talks about motorist lobby and the opponents they have in this case, who state that the addition of one extra lane to the Green Highway last year has worsened the traffic problems. Do the opponents make a valid point in this argument?, if yes we would need additional information to support this claim, such as the data and numbers showing us the contrast in the size of traffic jams before and after the an extra lane was built on the Green Highway. This additional data would weaken the motorists' suggestion considerably. In addition to the suggestion by the opponents, Are Blue Highway and Green Highway the same ? do they have the same kind of traffic rush ? are the commuters traversing on these highways of the same kind ?, are the questions that need answers to for the argument to be reasonable.

Further more, the alternative suggestion made by the opponents is adding a bicycle lane to the Blue Highway, as many area residents are keen bicyclists. To support this claim the author needs to provide evidence for the questions such as, How many residents are keen bicyclists ? Do they commute from this highway on bicycles often?. If more than half of the residents use bicycles for commuting, then building a lane dedicated to bicycles can be a valid suggestion. In addition , instead of making sweeping assumptions, the author needs o provide answers for the question , such as Are any of these bicyclists form the motorist lobby? and against the idea of the bicycle lane addition. Do the residents have pinned bicycling as a hobby ?, in such a case the addition of such a lane the highway would not be a smart decision.

Due to lack of evidence such as , Are there enough funds for the widening of roads suggested by the motorist lobby? Or Does the alternative solution given by opponents have enough evidence to be considered as a suggestion , this argument is not completely persuasive and more research need to ne done before considering any of the sides stated in the argument.