In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At the first glance authors argument about Prunty Country considering the measures followed by Butler County to attain highway safety appears to be covincing, but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus not strong enough to consider it as a suggestion.

To begin with, the argument states that Prunty County lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour last year on all county highways, and still the number of accidents has not decreased, and to support this claim the author provides reports from the highway patrol which state that many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. To strengthen his argument here the author needs to provide more evidence on where he got these statistics from , do the highway patrol reports account for the entire duration of the events , and if the increase in road accidents were because of people not following the speed limit or were there any other factors contributing for it. For instance, lower visibility on the highway during the night time , or that the road conditions have deteriorated over the years are proving to be a reason for these accidents.

Secondly, the author suggests that to over come problems faced by Prunty County it should consider following the project that was implemented by the Butler County five years ago. The argument is weakened by the assumption that both the Counties are the same in their geographic layout and that same improvements such as increasing lane widths , resurfacing rough surfaces and improving visibility at dangerous intersections can be made. To better evaluate the argument we would need more information about coast required for making all these improvements as it is not mentioned anywhere in the entirety of this article.

In order to fully evaluate this article, we need more evidence regarding the implementation of the said highway project in the Butler County. The fact that their roads still have a speed limit of 55mph and the percentage of accidents being reduced to 25% is not enough to strengthen this argument. Even if that were the case that 25% accidents have reduced , the fact alone isn’t sufficient to support the claim that the same project should be implemented in Prunty County. There might be other reasons for this , for instance that there might be other safety regulations enforced by the County council that have helped reduce the rate of accidents. Moreover, from where did he acquire the statistics about Butler County , how reliable is the source of this information. There might be a political agenda in this , where the success of implementation of the project is being boosted about.

To sum up , this argument is weak because it depends on assumptions made by the author regarding the cause of accidents in Prunty County, the geographical setting of both counties being the same, funds easily available with Prunty County to undertake such a huge highway development project and the success of the project implementation at Butler County. And a more detailed study and research about these factors id required to go ahead with the suggestions made.