The following appeared in the editorial section of a health and fitness magazine. "In a study of the effects of exercise on longevity, medical researchers tracked 500 middle-aged men over a 20-year period. The subjects represented a variety of occupations in several different parts of the country and responded to an annual survey in which they were asked: How often and how strenuously do you exercise? Of those who responded, the men who reported that they engaged in vigorous outdoor exercise nearly every day lived longer than the men who reported that they exercised mildly only once or twice a week. Given the clear link that this study establishes between longevity and exercise, doctors should not recommend moderate exercise to their patients but should instead encourage vigorous outdoor exercise on a daily basis. " Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument.

The author of this argument claims that the doctor should encourage his patient to vigorous outdoor exercise instead moderate exercise. To support this recommendation the author cites the following facts. A research tracked wit 500 middle-age man from different country over 20 period years, show that men who do vigorous exercise outdoor physical activity lived longer. Close scrutiny of each of these facts, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to this recommendation.

First, the argument claims without any warrant that what was true in the past would be true in the future. This research’s result is related on a limited period, and surly; we cannot consider it as a good criterion to decide for the future. It is entirely possible that in 20 years people’s economic condition is the same, but the author does not provide information to show that condition is stable during the time.

Second, the author provides no assurance that the survey on which the argument depends is statistically reliable. If the survey’s respondents are not representative of the overall population of people with the different age groups, the author cannot rely on it to conclude that vigorous outdoor exercise can increase everyone’s life. A research should contain enough people, while in this matter; perhaps the number of respondents was too low to ensure that the author's conclusion will be correct. In addition, the research sample should reflect the statistical population, but the research ignored that the result can be different for women.

Third, the argument relies on the assumption that the middle-age men lived longer just because of the vigorous outdoor exercise. However, it is entirely possible that the longevity was due to factors such as having access the better medical cares, suitable economic condition, healthy foods, and that these problems have not been remedied. In fact, perhaps people who take part in this research and do not live longer were in the poor countries, and the healthy food or medical cares were not put at their disposal. In this way, the rate of mortality among these people was higher than other countries. Since the author has not dearly identified the cause of the longevity, I cannot be convinced that vigorous outside physical activities can help human to live longer.

In the fourth place, based on the fact that strong outdoor exercise increases the people life, the author infers that it would be useful for patients. However, this is not necessarily the case. It is possible that these physical activities are dangerous for patients, or at least for some of them. Moreover, the research does not mention vigorous outdoor exercise is more beneficial than moderate exercise. To the extent that this is the case, then the author’s suggestion that hard outside exercises are useful for patient health is doubtful.

In sum, this argument is flowed and therefore unconvincing it stands. To strengthen the author must provide clear evidence of conditions that participants live there. In addition, to evaluate author’s conclusion, we would need more researches, which track women and people from different group age.