Some items (such as clothes or furniture) can be made by hand or by machine. Which do you prefer - items made by hand or items made by machine? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your choice.

When it comes to the issue the choice item which is made by hand or by machine, some people believe that is better to purchase items made by machines. However, others maintain the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

The first and most important reason is that financial issue. The price plays a significant role in our options and causes we choose wisely. From the economical angle, production goods by hand not only are time-consuming but also increase the cost of outcomes. However, machines allow us to mass production, which saves time and decreases the expenses. I think that a small example can give some light on this topic. In my country, people tend to cover the house floor by carpets. Most of them prefer to use machine-made carpet instead of a handmade carpet because the difference of price between these so great that they cannot afford it.

There is also a more subtle point we must consider. Item is generated by machines is the standard. As we all know, standard products have less risk of failures by manufacturing mistake, because they are assembling by robots, sensors, and computer. I think that there in no better example than one who purchases a car from Rolls Royce Company, who produces cars by hand. If he needs spare pieces for his car, he hardly could find them in some special stores. Handmade goods usually do not base on common standard methods, and this cause repairing them is difficult. Overall, the biggest advantage of products of machines lies in the fact that producers use standardized methods for manufacture them.

Apart from the points I made above, because of the standardized methods used to manufacture some item, producers can offer more extended warranty to their products. A tree hundred dollars watch probably can work proper for over ten years, and producer can offer a warranty longer than would offer a famous watch producer from Switzerland, who makes all of these watches by hand.

Taking into account all of these factors, we may reach the conclusion that an item made by machine is better. The main reason for this selection is that price, and warranties, as well as standardized methods for manufacture them. Of course, as an English proverb goes “coin has two sides,” those who take the opposite view are partly reasonable that an item made by hand is unique and has more quality. Nonetheless, I think that its benefits outweigh dangers. Last but not least, let us hope to have access the high quality and low-cost commodities, which are made by machines in the future.