Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe over 100 000 people attended Monroe s annual jazz festival last summer and the highest rated radio program in Monroe is Jazz Nightly which airs every weeknight Also a number of well known jazz

While it might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the conclusion given by the group of developers in the loan application that Jazz is extremely popular in the city of Monroe (and perhaps, by implication, that investing in a jazz club would be profitable), the group's argument does not make a cogent case. Their reasoning to arrive at the conclusion basing on the popularity of Jazz in Monroe and the ability of a jazz fan to spend a lot of money , may have sounded rational and probable, but their argument is rife with holes and assumptions. Before thinking about getting a loan, the group should consider all latent factors.

First of all, the group cites the example of many people attending Monroe's annual jazz festival to support the claim that there are many jazz fans in the city. This claim is based on the assumption that if many people attend a yearly jazz festival in the city, there are lot of fans in the city. It can be possible that lot of the festival's attendees are travelling from far to enjoy the festival and so, less fans with in the city. Also, it might be possible that every one attending the festival, are not interested in joing to a jazz club, because most of them might have attends the festival just to see their favorite celebrities. If the above situations have merit, the examples cited by the group cannot be used to claim the popularity of jazz in the city, and thus the group's argument is significantly weakend.

Furthermore, the group states that the nearest jazz club is one hour away, to imply that a jazz club in the city of Monroe would be profitable. But here, the group assumed that they can easily compete against the already existing club which is an hour away. May be it is possible that the existing club might have established itslef with a very popular jazz environment and the city residents would easily afford an hour of time just to go to that club. If that is the case, the group's argument fails to address this assumption.

Fianlly, the group assumed that a fans would be willing to spend as much money as what a natio-wide study reported. The study might have considered wealthiest cities in the country and the estimation might not scale well to the city of Monroe. Also, the developers might have used this spending estimation against the cost of building a club while calculating profits. If the above assumption fails, the developers will be rather in loss if they invest in the club.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its rerliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Unless the group substantiates their assumptions, the argument remains unconvincing.