The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

On average, middle-aged consumers devote 39 percent of their retail expenditure to department store products and services, while for younger consumers the average is only 25 percent. Since the number of middle-aged people will increase dramatically within the next decade, department stores can expect retail sales to increase significantly during that period. Furthermore, to take advantage of the trend, these stores should begin to replace some of those products intended to attract the younger consumer with products intended to attract the middle-aged consumer.

The argument claims that reducing the number of products intended to attract younger people by products attracting middle aged people will increase the sales of the store in the next decade. Stated in this way the argument manipulates facts and gives a distorted view of the situation. The conclusion of the argument is rife with holes and assumptions for which there is no transpicuous evidence. Hence, the argument lacks perspicuity and has several imperfections.

Primarily, the argument claims that the revenue for the middle aged and the younger people is same. If younger people earned more, for example, $200 and 25 % of it would be $50. And if the middle aged people earned only $100 and 39 % of it would be $39. In this case the department store gets more sales from the younger people. Replacing the products will only lead to a loss for the departmental store.

Secondly, the argument readily assumes that the average amount of the revenue spent by the people is correct. If the expenditure of both is 100 and 39 percent spent by the middle aged people would be 39 and similarly amount spent by younger people will be 25. A difference of 14 would not be a greater difference that the store can get. If the amount is huge, the argument is valid. But no such evidence is shown.

Next in line, the argument asserts that after ten years the revenue would increase if the store replaces some of the products for middle aged people. The argument is flawed because the preference of people after years could change. The younger people now will be the middle aged people ten years later. So, their preference to the department store would be the same and there is no proof that it will increase.

Finally, we are left with so many questions about how the store came to such a conclusion. Was a survey conducted? If there was a survey, were the number of men and women equal? Are the preference of the men and women same all through the year? Were the number of people in all age groups equal? Without unassailable answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantive evidence.

In its totality, the argument has too many obtensibly related facts and has several questions. It would be considerably strengthened if the author provided relevant facts. If not the argument is unsubstantiated and open to debate.