The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument states that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level by a television station to attract more viewers by cutting down the time devoted to national news. Stated in this manner, the argument manipulates facts and provides a distorted view of the situation. The conclusion of the argument is rife with holes and assumption that it lacks perspicuity. Hence, the argument is not conspicuous and has several imperfections.

Primarily, the argument readily assumes that cutting down the time devoted to national news by local and weather news will help in reducing the complaints from the viewers. But there is no clear evidence that doing so will help the station. The complaints by the viewers could have been from a particular section of people who watch only the late- night programs.

Next in line, the argument readily asserts that the reason for the local businesses to cancel their advertising contracts is due to the increased time devoted to national news. We should further analyse what else could have been the reason.The local businesses could have found other effective ways to advertise.Or they could have found a way of cost cutting to met the decline in revenues in their respective companies. The company could have also signed up for a advertising in the day-time. Without knowing the reasons for the local business to do so,the author should not jump to conclusions.

Furthermore, over the past year many catastrophic events at the national level could have happened and the television station could have devoted more time to national news in order to attract viewers. Did the television company completely omit all the local and weather news? Did the company occlude a important local event? From whom did the complaints come? What other reasons could have made the local businesses to cancel their contracts?What reason made the station to devote more time to national news than before? Without unassailable answers to these questions,the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author is more of a wishful thinking than a substantive evidence.

In its totality, the argument does not address various factors and has several imperfections. If the author provided strong evidence in terms of a detailed analysis, then the argument may hold strong.If not,the argument is unsubstantiated and is open to debate.