The following appeared in a health newsletter A fifteen year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing protective gear while skating indicates that fifteen years ago approximately 40 percent of all skaters reported wearing protective gear whereas t

The author of above argument starts by saying that he has come to the conclusion on the basis of a fifteen-year nationwide study. He has tried to jump to an optimistic conclusion based on irrelevant and baseless assumptions. He suggests that government should start an education program that concentrates on factors other than protective gear use which are necessary to ensure safety while skating. Even if the government acts according to his suggestions, it may not be possible that number of accidents happened during skating are reduced.

The study focuses on effectiveness of wearing protective gear while skating. Fifteen years ago, approximately 40 percent of all skaters reported wearing protective gear. The percentage might be less due to the fact that skating may not be as popular during that time as it is today. Remaining 60 percent who played skating just did it for enjoyment and not as a serious sport. It is not mentioned that among whom is the survey conducted. Also, the location of where the survey was conducted is not mentioned. The survey might have been conducted in areas where skating is not popular. So, the people in that area were not aware of safety precautions and measures needed to be taken while skating.

Today, around 85 percent of all skaters wear protective gear. It is no doubt that the number has significantly increased. Many sports clubs who host skating grounds do not allow skaters without protective gear. Due to this fact, the number may have increased from 40 to 85 percent. It is not mentioned anywhere that the survey conducted recently was among the same people who were surveyed 15 years ago. It may be possible that the recent survey was conducted in a skating club. The author has not mentioned any clear details about both surveys. Reaching to a conclusion with incomplete data is not beneficial.

It is necessary that author should consider the details of the study conducted 15 years ago. He says that skaters feel safer in protective gear which induces them to take more risks. The place in which the study was conducted is not mentioned. It should be taken into consideration that the place may not have appropriate traffic measures which leads to more accidents. If this is true, then wearing protective gears will not be of any benefit to the skaters. Again, the author has reached a baseless conclusion on incomplete data.