Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowing can be defined as having enlightenment of subject, while learning can be defined as putting knowledge into work. It is likely that some people would agree with the statement, and some don't. However, the knowing about the past cannot really help people to make important decision today but learning obtained from past experience can.

As world moves forward towards technology, it is expected that some problems of humans would probably vanish. However, it is also expected that this flourishment of technology will create new problems that are never encountered by humans before. These unprecedented problems will need new solutions rather than conventional one's as there is saying "Modern problems requires modern solutions". Therefore, it is not likely that past knowing can help in anyways for decision making towards these modern problems in today's world.

Despite of having robust law system at present, it is vulnerable to frequent and prominent changes. This changes in law is likely to occur as a response to newer problems. Some things which are illegal right now could be legal in the future and things which are legal right now could be illegal in the future. Therefore, it is very uncertain to predict these frequent changes in judicial system, and thus any knowledge consisting of past laws cannot be reliably applied in decision making today.

There is very vague difference between the two terms 'knowing' and 'learning'. However, this difference between two tells us lot of things. As it is very ubiquitous for a person to face a situation and not learning from it. A person can be expected to do the same mistake again hence suggesting that the knowing from past is of no use in decision making today.

Though this knowledge from past can be used as experience to make important decision today as famous Sir Thomas Elva Edison did while inventing lightbulb. He failed many times before inventing lightbulb but every time he failed, he learned new concepts and make appropriate decisions for change in the design of the bulb which eventually led him to success. Implying that the experience derived from the past knowing can be use in decision making today.

In conclusion there are enough evidence stating that it is not the 'knowing' that helps people making important decision today but in fact it is 'experience' derived from the that knowing that eventually led and help people to make important decision today.