The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter recommends limiting the number of mopeds, a popular form of transportation on Balmer Island, rented by the moped rental companies of the island from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. The author provides support for the recommendation providing the example of the neighboring island Seaville, where 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents was attained as Seaville’s town council enacted similar limits on moped rentals. However, the argument on which the recommendation is based is seriously flawed and it can be evaluated properly if the author can provide answers to these following three questions.

First of all, will the population at Balmer Island increase to 100000 during the summer season every year? The author prematurely assumes that this population increase at Balmer Island is representative of all the upcoming summer seasons. However, this may not be true. It is very likely that population increase in the upcoming days at Balmer Island will be significantly low, reducing the number of probable moped accidents. The argument fails to address this issue and so it is seriously weakened.

Secondly, will reducing the number of moped rentals by half result in a reduction of the number of accidents by exactly half? The author assumes that there exists a linear relationship between the number of moped rentals and the number of annual accidents. Perhaps, this may not be the case. The number of accidents may be reduced in a very small proportion and thus won’t follow the prescribed linear relationship. It is very much possible that reduction in annual accidents fall by only 1 percent. The argument fails to provide answer for this question and so is seriously flawed.

Last, but not least, is the condition of Balmer Island is very similar to the neighboring island of Seaville? The author assumes that there exists a great similarity between the town councils of Balmer Island and Seaville. This may not be true. Perhaps, the town council at Seaville is very much adamant in rules of moped rentals, thus they have succeeded to reduce the number of accidents. The town council of Balmer Island may be very much apathetic to the rules of limiting the number of moped rentals and so they will not be successful to reduce the number of moped accidents in Balmer Island. The argument fails to consider this and as a result it does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands is seriously flawed due to reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answer for the stated three questions and thus provide more evidence, then the recommendation for limiting the number of moped rentals can be properly evaluated.