The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter provided is basically about how to lower the mopeds accidents rate. And the author suggested to limit the amount of renting mopeds as a solution. However, in his letter, there are some questions we need to ask before taking action upon his suggestion.

The first question we need to ask is “ What is the fundamental cause of the accidents?” If the cause of the accidents are the improper drive of mopeds, then limiting the mopeds renting a day can only reduce the income from renting mopeds, and the number of accidents would still left unsolved. Or even the cause of those accidents are because of the pedestrians who don’t follow traffic rules and go across the road without watching out the on coming vehicles. So it is important for us to ask the real underling problem behind the cause of those accidents, and it is also the question that worth the council to think about before cutting the number of renting mopeds.

The author also mentioned in the latter half of the letter that the town council would attain half of the annual reduction. Then here we need to ask: based on what evidence or what data can the author be sure that cutting the renting number of mopeds in half would help reduce the accidents? Can he provide any data that shows the accidents happened in the past 5 years on the island are mostly caused by the overloading number of mopeds? Or did any group of experts in the area of traffic safety or experts in other relevant fields agree with his opinion? The author needs to provide effective evidence alongside his suggestion so his reader can know how much his readers can believe in his words.

Lastly, the author said in the very end of the letter that the Seaville’s town successfully reduce their accident rate by limiting the number of mopeds so the same method should be also applied on Balm Island. The last question we need to ask is : how can he make sure that applying the same method that used in Seaville’s town can also be effective in this Island? How can these two island be comparable in this scenario? The author needs to proof that the two island are similar in the essence of the traffic or the main cause of the accidents so his suggestion would be worth taking.