The best way to teach is to praise positive and ignore negative ones.

In the process of learning, it is important to give proper amount of affirmation to students in order to boost their confident and hence keep their motivation of study. However, it doesn’t mean that punishments should be completely eliminated during the process. Giving both positive and negative feedback in the moderate amount would be the most ideal way of teaching.

Praise is just like candies, it is a pleasure when we take moderate amount of them. While it may also damage our teeth if we take too much of them. Same thing happens when learning. No matter what kind of subjects of skills the teachers are teaching, it is vital to give students positive feedback when they do right or make progress, even the tiny progress deserve some praises because students need incentives and encouragement to keep on going. Especially when students encounter some difficulties in their learning process, it is essential for teacher to notice the obstacle they have, companying them conquring the trouble, and most importantly accompliment them for doing a great job. Just a few words can come a long way. However, it may turn the praise become a negative effect to students if we give to much of them. For example, if we keep on praising a students for doing good on exams, he may become proud and arrogant, then think he doesn’t need to learn anymore.

Although punishments are not the decent feedback that students want, but it is necessary in the process of learning in that some of the wrongdoing should be inhibit right at the time in order to prevent it happens again, especially to the students in the young age. Several researches already confirm the fact that human brain doesn’t born and be mature right after birth, instead, the long growing process could continues for a decade long. In other word, usually our brain can be fully developed at the age of 20. With that said, young students don’t have the ability of discerning what is the wrong and right things to do because they are biologically immature. If their wrongdoing at the time couldn’t be stopped at the time, it is easily to foster them the wrong concept or behavior in their critical period of learning. Instead of just ignoring their negative behavior, we ought to prevent them from doing the wrong thing again in the future. And the more deterring punishments, like moderate amount of physical punishment should be conducted when necessary.

All in all, it is positive to praise students when they performe well or need some encouragements to keep learning. However, it is also crucial to do some punishment when students make mistakes in order to keep them from depraving or going on the wrong way of learning at a young age.