Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of KICK in Medway recommends including more call-in advice programs to attain a larger sharing of audience in its listening area. The manager provides support for this recommendation providing example of radio station of WCQP in Rockville as it succeeded to increase its radio audience share by adopting the same step. However, this argument is seriously flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may not be true and these following three questions must be answered before evaluating whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

First of all, is the success of radio station WCQP in Rockville is still prevalent today like it was two years ago? The manager prematurely assumes that the radio station, WCQP is still successful today. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that the radio station WCQP is facing decreasing share of radio audience today despite increasing the number of call-in programs. The argument fails to address this case and so it is seriously weakened.

Secondly, is the nationwide survey, revealing many radio listeners are quite interested in call-in advice programs, reliable? The manager, without any hesitance, assumes that the survey is free from all probable errors and they represent perfect data obtained. In reality, this may not be the case. It is very likely that the survey adopted a wrong way for gathering the required data and they have miscounted the number of radio listeners interested in the call-in advice programs. Perhaps, they got almost twice the number of the real data, reporting that to be quite high, but in reality it was not so much. The argument fails to consider this issue and so it does not hold water.

Finally, is the choice of the radio listeners in Medway very similar to those in Rockville? The author assumes this to be true; the call-in programs will attract the radio listeners of Medway in a similar manner. But this may not happen in reality. Perhaps, the radio listeners in Medway can have different choice and different taste. It is possible that they will not be interested to the call-in advice programs at all. If this has merit, then including more call-in advice programs will have no effect. The argument fails to provide sufficient evidences for this and so is seriously flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide good answers to the above stated three questions with necessary evidences by conducting a more careful research, then the recommendation and the argument on which it is based will be properly evaluated and provide support for including more call-in advice programs to gain a larger audience share in Medway.