The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe tnerhat the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner of the central plaza believes that popularity of skateboarding has become a cause for the reduction of number of shoppers in their shops. he makes that statement based on the evidence that the amount of litter and vandalism has increased throughout the plaza. At first the argument might seem convincing but on second consideration is is clear that it is rife with many assumptions. hence it is not cogent and these factors need to be taken into consideration.

First question that need to be answered is: does popularity of skateboarding and curtailing of shoppers have any real connection? Argument assumes that the reason for reduction in number of buyers at plaza is due to skateboarding. however it may not be true. It maybe be because of shoppers not wanting to buy from central plaza anymore in recent years. it maybe be because of bad quality at the plaza or because of augment of prices. hence, in order to strengthen the argument the main reason behind the cause should be known by conducting a survey.

Second question that needs to be answered is: Is skateboarding the real cause of littering and vandalism? the argument assumes that it is caused by increase in skateboarding. The argument does not mention the other probable causes like insociant buyers throwing waste on the plaza or stray dogs littering the plaza. It directly blames the skateboarding without enough proof. hence in order to strengthen the argument more evidence on the cause of littering and vandalism is needed.

Lastly the question which needs to be answered is: Will there prediction after prohibiting the skateboarding will be true? The owners assume that after thwarting the skateboarders the number of shoppers will reconcile. It does not take others factors which would impede their profit into consideration like the new population or the traffic into account. hence it weakens the argument and more information is need to bolster it like current census or traffic data.

In conclusion, many more questions need to be answered before eliciting the conclusion. the evidence stated in the argument does little to support the conclusion that skateboarding should be prohibited. Thus all these factors need to be considered abreast with appropriate evidence like surveys to take the final decision.