The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.
"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily
decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many
Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the
number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the
amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city
prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict
that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to
decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain
how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.
The letter from a Central Plaza store owner recommend that skateboarding should be
prohibited in the Central Plaza to the editor. Also, they assume that if skateboarding is
prohibited, then business of Central Plaza will increase. But, owner is predicting about
increase in sales without any evidence. The owner needs to find out answers of many
questions which will arise after going through his/her assumptions.
Firstly, Is Central Plaza shops mainly based on skateboarding business? If Central Plaza
contains many shops like Electronics shops, Clothing shops, Footwear shops, and Game
zone, then increase in popularity of skateboarding will not readily affect on Central Plaza
store owners. Even if the skateboard users are increasing, the overall market of Central
Plaza should not be decreased because of their other shops. Since there is no statistical
evidence is given about how much amount of loss they are getting from last two years,
owner’s assumption is not valid.
Secondly, Is there any competitor of Central Plaza giving great discounts and low prices?
Does Central Plaza completing the need of nearby people? If the opponent of Central
Plaza have latest electronics and things which people will buy on daily basis, then sales of
Central Plaza will eventually decrease. Will prohibiting skateboarding decrease amount of
crimes and vandalism in Central Plaza?
On what basis are store owners predicting that business of Central Plaza will return to its
previously high levels? Its not clearly mentioned that how much lose shop owners are
getting in Plaza. What if the complaints of Central Plaza has been increased and hence,
sales are going down. Shop owners need to take a systematic survey of customers about their needs and should look through all the complaints thoroughly.
All in all, there are many unanswered questions should be solved before prohibiting
skateboard in Central Plaza. With cursory assumption of skateboarding is the cause of
reducing sales, Owner should not recommend prohibit of skateboarding. Owner should
think of ways which will increase sales to higher level.