Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Now days, competition has been increased terribly. Every student in the university come with a goal which will lead to the great job. Due to vast knowledge and subjects, students start thinking about their career from school life. They admit in the college with the same group of subjects which they have targeted. But if universities force to take variety of courses other than student’s field of study, then it would be not favourable to all the students.

Firstly, students take the courses of their choices and start the preparation for that from the childhood. For example, if anyone wants to become engineer or coder, then many startups like WhiteHatJunior, Unacademy in india teaches codes and app development to teenagers. Most of the parents who are over possessive about their student’s future enrolled in such type of courses. If university will force students to take courses like history, geography, civics, arts, then the focus of student will be disturbed and he/she might not get enough time to study of their own subjects.

Secondly, student might not get enough time to concentrate on important subjects and get low score in his/ her subjects, then it would affect on his/her mental state and might end up getting no job. In this decade, the mental state of students has become most important topic among all because there are increasing number of cases of suicide and many illegal things by students.

Some subjects like communication skills and business ethics would be effective to students of any branch. Since, communication skills are important in personal and professional career, these subjects would increase student’s productivity level as well as make them good potential candidate. Most of the other subjects like arts, history might be beneficial to the students who are not great at their field of study and hence they can pursue their career in these optional subjects.

In conclusion, It is not favourable that universities should require to all students to take optional subjects. However, it should not be compulsory and optional for all so at least other students can enroll who are not good at their field of study.