The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter believes that the prohibition of skateboarding will lead to the revival of the businesses in Central Plaza, citing reasons that a number of skateboard users have surged along with an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza. However, this recommendation can be properly evaluated if three questions are answered.

First of all, does the author of the letter have evidence to prove that skateboarders caused the litter and vandalism in the plaza? It might have been the case that the shop owners and the staff might themselves be littering the campus. Due to lack of customers, the working staff of shops in Central Plaza has less work to do and they spend most of their time roaming in the Plaza, littering them. It could also be possible that the shop owners and their staff are frustrated due to lack of business and are themselves vandalizing the property of the Plaza. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, what if the cause of shoppers plummeting in Central Plaza was because of product quality? It might be that the product quality and customer satisfaction were on a declivity in the Central Plaza which might have caused the number of customers to reduce. It could also be a case where the products sold were not much required for the customers and the number of customers started reducing. If either of the scenarios proves true, then the assertion by the author of the letter is significantly hampered.

Finally, what if the skateboarders in the Plaza increased due to a drop in the customers of the Central Plaza? It might be possible to say that the skateboarders were trying to find empty space with sporadic customers so that could practice their skateboarding. Due to the decrease in the customers made many of the skateboarders shift to this location. They also might be practicing their skateboarding without any disturbances to others. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.