A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education plays a vital role in transforming individuals and shaping the careers of students. Framing the national curriculum is an important task and the prompt recommends that a nation should have a single national curriculum until the high school level. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that a single curriculum is maintained throughout the country for two reasons.

To begin, if the uniformity of the curriculum is maintained throughout the country then it becomes easier to evaluate the students and every region or state might not require to have its methods for evaluating the students. This will lead to uniformity and equality throughout the country. For instance, the students of rural areas will gain the same knowledge and the same level of education when compared to the students of the metropolitan cities. They will have equal knowledge, skills, and opportunities to further excel in their career. The above example illustrates that having a single national curriculum helps to avoid disparity among students from different backgrounds and regions.

Further, ensuring a single national curriculum will enable students to give only a single entrance test for their admission to a college. This will eliminate the regional tests which students have to give many times. Moreover, a single national entrance test will help the students compete on a national level and will let them know where they stand in terms of ranks in their country. For instance, a student of country X where there is no single national curriculum has to prepare for many subjects and give many entrance exams. This increases the burden and decreases the performance of the student. Whereas, a student in country A where a single national curriculum is studied by everyone can prepare with a focus for a single nationwide test and get a better score. This shows why a single national curriculum is a good option.

Of course, some argue that the regional-based curriculum can focus on specific cultures and other important subjects related to the region. What if the students are not interested in cultural and regional studies at all? This will affect the students as they will lose interest in their studies and their performances will drop.