'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the memorandum believes that the late-night news program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level citing the reasons that the number of complaints concerned with local and weather news has increased and that local businesses have retracted their advertising contacts. However, this belief is based on several ungrounded premises which should be addressed with sound evidence before any action is taken.

First of all, the argument addresses only last year and does not give any specific time when they made these changes. If we know the time when they made these changes we have a chance to find out why the local businesses pulled out with their advertising contracts. It can be possible that there an economic recession during this time and the businesses did not have enough money to put into their advertising sector. It might also be the case that local businesses were running on losses which led them to take this step. A survey among the local businesses to find out why they decided to pull out their contracts could provide much-needed evidence to evaluate this point.

Secondly, there is a flaw in the statement which says that the author says there are several viewers who have concerns about the weather and the local news. But there is no explanation regarding the short time allocated to the weather and local news. Maybe, the complaints from viewers were because there was a recent flood in the country and the weather news and local news were giving regular updates and instructions about it in their localities. However, this was replaced by late-night national news which cut off the updates about the storm and angered the viewers.

Lastly, despite the presence of previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation requires further information. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether the recovery with local news and weather news to previous timings could further attract more viewers and avoid more loss; that is to say, did restoration of the previous programs back to their timings raised their revenues. If the current audiences are more finicky than ever before, or the advertisement requirements from businesses have changed drastically, we are reluctant to believe that the sole recovery to the previous state would help.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Before any decision is made on restoring the local and weather news to their original timings, more evidence on specific causes should be found. If the author can answer the three resolve the three flaws and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.